Academic Advisory Group

Jul 28, 2021 | Exposure Drafts and Consultation Papers

Comments due by:

*Please use the "Submit an Abstract" button rather than the "Summit Comment" button

To facilitate more structured relationships between the board and the academic community, and to maximize the contribution the community can make to the development of high quality IPSAS, in 2019 the IPSASB created its Academic Advisory Group (AAG). It is chaired by former IPSASB Chair, Andreas Bergmann, and includes IPSASB’s academic members, as well as representatives of the Comparative International Governmental Accounting Research (CIGAR) Network and International Research Society for Public Management (IRSPM).

Building on the success of IPSASB's first Research Forum in September 2019, the AAG issued a call for papers in relation to the four topics that the IPSASB had included in the Research program as part of its 2019-23 Strategy and Work Plan. The abstracts selected to go forward by the AAG were awarded a small grant by the IPSASB to enable drafts to be developed. The final versions of the papers were made available to the IPSASB to support its discissions about the topics to prioritize in its 2021 Work Program Consultation 

2022 Update

In preparation of the 3rd Research Forum, which will be co-hosted by CIGAR at its September 22-23, 2022 conference, the IPSASB is offered a grant of USD $1,500 for selected scholarly papers submitted on select topics (up to six grants were available in total).

There was strong interest from the academic community, with over 30 abstracts outlining research proposals received, from which four were selected. The Draft versions of the papers has been reviewed by the AAG. AAG comments have been provided to the authors of the papers and final versions are being developed. These papers will be finalized and will be presented at the 3rd Research Forum, in partnership with the CIGAR Network. 

Key Dates

AAG Key Dates

AAG Members

  • Andreas Bergmann (Chair)
    Zurich University of Applied Sciences
  • Francesco Capalbo
    University of Molise
  • Susana Jorge (CIGAR)
    University of Coimbra
  • Mari Kobayashi (IPSASB)
    Waseda Graduate School of Political Science
  • Scott Showalter (IPSASB)
    North Carolina State University
  • Maria Francesca Sicilia (IRSPM)
    University of Bergamo
  • Patricia Siqueira Varela (IPSASB)
    University of Sao Paulo

Copyright © 2022 The International Federation of Accountants (IFAC). All rights reserved.


Related Resources


Get the latest updates delivered to your inbox

Subscribe now


Translations & Permissions

Looking to reproduce the standards for your members? Want to include IFAC's publications in your training materials or university course? Learn how we can help.

IP permissions and policies


Primary tabs

Thank you for your interest in our publications. These valuable works are the product of substantial time, effort and resources, which you acknowledge by accepting the following terms of use. You may not reproduce, store, transmit in any form or by any means, with the exception of non-commercial use (e.g., professional and personal reference and research work), translate, modify or create derivative works or adaptations based on such publications, or any part thereof, without the prior written permission of IFAC.

Our reproduction and translation policies, as well as our online permission request and inquiry system, are accessible on the Permissions Information web page.

For additional information, please read our website Terms of Use. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED.